Welcome Note by the Planning Committee

Sara Ruto PhD

Chairperson, Planning Committee National Conference on Curriculum Reforms

The 3rd National Conference on Education Reforms is here. The conference offers a coordinated space for conversations, collaborations and engagement. It invites us to share, reflect and shape the education we want in Kenya. We are, therefore, immensely grateful to those who will make the time to join in the deliberations.

We hope that the conference will result in more shared understanding on the Competency Based Curriculum. We hope it will open the space so that each can see the role they will play. Finally, we hope that the conference can offer the opportunity to proactively seek more inclusion. We must, as a priority, expand inclusion, use evidence of what works and what doesn’t to guide decision-making; and purposefully seek an education that champions ‘learning for all’.


Planning Committee

Anne Wanjiru Ngatia


Anne Wanjiru Ngatia chairs the committee on Competency Based Assessment (CBA) for the Competency Based Curriculum at the Kenya National Examinations Council (KNEC) and previously lectured at Mombasa TTI.

Dr David Njengere


Dr David Njengere is an advisor in the Ministry of Education with extensive experience in research, curriculum design and implementation. Previously, he was a curriculum specialist at the KICD and UNESCO.

John Kimotho


John Kimotho is the Senior Deputy Director, Educational Media Services at KICD. He is a champion and thought leader in Educational Media in East Africa and an ambassador and advocate of Digital Literacy.

Dr. John Mugo


Dr. John Mugo is the Executive Director of Zizi Afrique Foundation, Chair of the KISE board and board member of the PAL Network. John previously headed Uwezo East Africa and Chaired the Special Needs Education department at Kenyatta University.

Kipronoh Ronoh


Kipronoh Ronoh is Director for Programs and Standards at the ICT Authority and previously headed and Quality Management System at Kenya Urban Roads Authority (KURA) and at Kenya Civil Aviation Authority (KCAA).

Dr. Mary Gaturu


Dr. Mary Gaturu is the Acting Director for quality assurance and standards at the State Department of Early Learning and Basic Education in the Ministry of Education.

Dr. Reuben Nthamburi Mugwuku


Dr. Reuben Nthamburi Mugwuku is the Director Quality Assurance and Standards at the TSC. Previously, he was Deputy Director Basic Education and Learning at the Kenya National Commission for UNESCO.

Ruth Mugambi


Ruth Mugambi is Deputy Director in charge of Secondary Education at KICD. She is the technical chair of curriculum reforms and sits in the board of the Kenya Nutritionists & Dieticians Institute. 

Dr. Samuel Siringi


Dr. Samuel Siringi is the Associate Director, School of Journalism and Mass Communication (SOJMC), University of Nairobi. Prior to this, he worked as Associate Editor and Education Editor with the Daily Nation.

Dr. Silvester Ohene


Dr. Silvester Ohene is the Acting Director for Policy, Partnerships and East Africa Community Affairs in the Ministry of Education.

Amos Kaburu

Conference Coordinator

Amos Kaburu is a Kenyatta University and University of Nairobi educated public schooling advocate. Until recently, Kaburu was Senior Program Officer at Twaweza East Africa.